Contact Us   |   Home   |   Sign In   |   JOIN NOW!
ACCT Standards Information

ACCT Standards Information

ACCT has been setting standards for the challenge course industry since 1994. Now in the 8th Edition, the ACCT standards are recognized in many different countries and by many different organizations as the standards for the challenge course industry. 


The ACCT standards do not contain drawings or designs for course elements. 


There are 5 Chapters in the standards book – Design, Performance, Equipment, Inspections, Operations, Practitioner Certification and Training.   While there are some diagrams in the book, there are no design plans for elements.

  • Design, Performance and Equipment Standards - Minimum strength standards for various parts of a course and specifications for equipment;
  • Inspection Standards - What should be covered in an inspection, some retirement criteria, and what a report should include.
  • Operations Standards - Course management specifics and facilitator competencies.
  • Practitioner Certification Standards - outlines the requirements for a certification program

To order the ACCT standards, click here or call the ACCT office at 1-800-991-0286.


ACCT has undergone the process for Accreditation as an American National Standards Developer with its own standards development procedures, and was awarded accredited status in July 2006. ACCT’s scope of accreditation covers general standards for the challenge course industry.

ANSI is the American National Standards Institute. ANSI accredits standards setting organizations, as well as the standards they set. For more information on ANSI,
click here

The ACCT standards setting procedures for ANSI standards can be downloaded here.  These procedures do differ slightly from internal standards setting procedures which are used to develop standards not submitted to ANSI.

Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal